Hi, everyone. My name is Sarah Lippincott and I am now in my second month as the Program Manager for the recently launched Library Publishing Coalition (LPC) project. I recently earned my MSLS at UNC Chapel Hill and I’m still based in central North Carolina. I have a background working with library organizations (ARL and SPARC) as well as a few forays into publishing (with a small, commercial press and an open-access journal).

The LPC project is a two-year initiative dedicated to advancing the field of library publishing. Over 50 institutions have committed seed funding to the project and will collaboratively design and implement an ongoing organization to serve the needs of the library publishing community.

As a relative newcomer to the field, I’m excited to join this conversation. Given my role at the LPC, I’m particularly interested in how libraries (and others) are collaborating in their library publishing activities. I’ll be on the lookout for examples of successful or innovative partnerships, and sharing my ideas about how collaboration and forging new connections can advance this field. As a recent library school graduate, I also hope to explore how we’re training (or should be) the next generation of library publishers. I look forward to hearing more from each of you both about your local experiences and your impressions of the field from a bird’s eye view.

