allysonMowerHello everyone. Kudos to Melanie for coming up with this idea and getting it started. I think this will be a great way to keep the library publishing community connected.

My name is Allyson Mower (pronounced ‘Mower’ as in ‘Power’) and I am the Scholarly Communications & Copyright Librarian at the J. Willard Marriott Library at the University of Utah. My job at the library is to help answer copyright questions from students and faculty in consultation with our office of general counsel. I’m also working as part of a team to establish new ventures for scholarly publishing. For example, we have worked in partnership with a university press to help a faculty member publish both a print version and a larger web-based version of a major sourcebook she has worked on for 20 years (forthcoming). We publish eight U of U graduate journals using OJS. I also manage the library’s open access publishing fund.

In addition, colleagues and I from Purdue University–fellow bloggers Charles Watkinson and Mark Newton (now at Columbia)–and Georgia Tech libraries –Julie Speer (now at Virginia Tech) received a grant in 2010 from the Institute of Museum and Library Services to explore the state of library publishing services.

Two of my team members and I recently presented at the fall Digital Library Federation Forum which is where I had the good fortune of meeting Melanie. The name of our presentation was “Cracking the Code” and that’s what I hope to get out of reading and writing posts on library publishing. I’m looking forward to lots of interesting conversations on LibPub.

